History of CSI

The Church of South India (CSI) is the result of the union of churches of varying traditions Anglican, Methodist, Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed. The Church of South India is the second-largest church in India based on the population of members, next to the Roman Catholic Church, and also the largest Protestant denomination in the country. The Church of South India (CSI) is the successor of a number of Protestant denominations in India, including the Church of England, the Methodist Church, and the Church of Scotland after Indian Independence.   It came into being by a union of Anglican and Protestant Churches in South India. The CSI was inaugurated on 27 September 1947 at St. George’s Cathedral Chennai. The church has 15,000 local Congregations with more than 4 million members worldwide. While the majority of the members are in India, congregations exist in Sri Lanka, where a full diocese is organized. We also have congregations in the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, Bahrain, Kuwait, Qatar, Oman, and the United Arab Emirates. Church of South India members are also worshiping in different parts of North India, including Bhopal, New Delhi, Kolkata, Bhilai, Mumbai, and Pune. However, CSI churches in North India are under the respective CNI bishops. CSI churches in Europe are under the respective Anglican Bishops.

The Church of South India is a member of the Anglican Communion, and its bishops participate in the Lambeth Conferences; it has representation on the Anglican Consultative Council. It is also a member of the World Council of Churches, the World Alliance of Reformed Churches, and the National Council of Churches in India. The CSI is in full communion with the Malankara Mar Thoma Syrian Church of India and the Church of North India (CNI). The Church of South India maintains a partnership with the Church of North India, Church of Scotland, Episcopal Church, Mar Thoma Syrian Church of Malabar, Methodist Church of Great Britain, Presbyterian Church in Korea, Presbyterian Church in the Republic of Korea, Presbyterian Church of India, Presbyterian Church (USA), Reformed Church in America, United Church of Christ, and the Uniting Church in Australia.

The inspiration for the Church of South India was born from ecumenism and inspired by the words of Jesus Christ as recorded in the Gospel of John (17.21). "That they all may be one" is also the motto of the Church of South India.

Church of South India


General Information

Dioceses : 24

Bishops : 24

Presbyters : 3200

Women Presbyters : 86

Pastorates : 3000

Congregations : 15000

Membership : 40 Lakhs

Arts & Science Colleges : 130

Engineering Colleges : 5

Medical Colleges : 2

Theological Colleges : 7

Elementary and secondary Schools : 2300

Teacher Training Schools : 15

Training Centers for young people : 50

Boarding Homes and Hostels : 600

Hospitals : 104

Dispensaries and mobile clinics : 125